Inglestone House is a stunning Georgian property and as such is full of character; with original floors and a Chinese Style staircase, in vogue during the 1750’s, it really is one of a kind. It is situated in the fabulous town of Kelso and has a long, rich history. We are so very excited to delve into its past and hope to get started soon!
The History of Kelso
Kelso was known as a town of selling and trading which is clear from the street names in the centre of town; Woodmarket, Horsemarket and Mill Wynd as a few examples.
In the 18th and 19th centuries larger stately homes were built outside of the town centre for the richer middle class, away from the overcrowded tenements in the main town.
In the 20th century when industry changed to focus more on electronics, an industrial estate was built at Pinnaclehill so that businesses could move out of the town centre for growth and expansion.
The earliest recorded history of Kelso was in 1113 when David, Earl of Tweeddale and Northampton, later to become David I, King of Scotland, brought monks from France to set up a Monastery originally in Selkirk. In 1128 the monks moved to Kelso to set up the abbey which still exists, in part, today.
The earliest inhabitants of the town were thought to have lived in the grounds of what is now Floors castle, an area which was destroyed by fire in 1684.
By 1200, Kelso is recorded as having a Provost (mayor).
After the erection of the abbey, a small community began to grow in and around that area due mainly to the wonderful craft work skills of the monks.
David I, is responsible for all the Border Abbeys and he is also believed to have set up the first Parish in Scotland; thought to have been the village of Ednam, just outside of Kelso.
Kelso tourist Attractions
This is the largest inhabited house in Scotland. The original house was quite plain so was redesigned in the 1720’s, then later remodelled in 1849 to what we see today. The entrance gates were a gift to the Duke from his wife, the 8th Duchess, as a silver wedding gift in 1929.
Built in 1128 and finally finished in 1243, this was one of the largest and richest abbeys in Scotland. It was Henry VIII who by 1550, had reduced all the Border Abbeys to rubble.
The Rennie Bridge was built in 1800-1803 by John Rennie, to replace the previous bridge that had been washed away by floods in 1797. It was an earlier and smaller scaled example of the Waterloo Bridge built in London.
The Railways station at Maxwellheugh was part of the St Boswell’s to Tweedmouth line. Passenger services stopped on the 13th June 1964 with the freight line ending on 1st April 1968. It is still possible to walk many of the disused lines in and around Kelso.
Originally named Marchidun, it was residence of the Earl of Northumberland in 1107. It was a massive fortress that housed many kings. It changed hands frequently until it was destroyed in 1550. You can still see its remains scatted about the hill top today.
This is the largest market square in Scotland. It is packed full of history. Roxburgh street, one road leading off from the square, contains an embedded horse shoe that local legend tells us came from no other than Bonnie Prince Charlie’s horse.
In 1645 and then again in 1742 fires raged through the town centre destroying practically everything. Most of the buildings which exist now post-date these fires.
The town hall is the most dominant building, built in 1816. The town hall clock, set in an octagonal tower, is still the talk of many visitors due to its chime at every quarter hour.
In the town square is the bull ring set into the cobbles, where farmers tethered their animals on market days.
Today local farmers still gather in the square Normally on the fourth Saturday of the month to sell their local produce at the Farmer’s Market.